The Adventures of 3 Day Mug

One small Mug, helping to cure breast cancer one step at a time!

Rocking the Fundraising with the Coconutter Strutters!

with one comment

What an adventure so far!

As I mentioned in my previous post, I was shipped in the most glorious cloud of bubble wrap (thanks to the FedEx guy!) to spend a couple weeks in Michigan with Team Coconutter Strutters before heading to the Michigan 3 Day for the Cure.  The weekend before the Michigan event, I was honored to spend the evening at the Third Annual ‘Passionate About Pink’ fundraising concert with Coconutter teammates!

Vanessa says for me to say an extra special “Thank You!” to G Jais Jook Joint Blues Band, Tracy Mack, DJ Jen & Hana Halhas who kept everyone singing, smiling, toe-tapping and dancing all night — it was so much fun!

Rock on Michigan!

In addition to getting to know my teammates before the big 3 Day walk, I also made some great new friends at the party.  One of my new friends caught my eye immediately – we were both decked out in pink, my signature color!

My new friend Lil' Miss Martini!

We got a little silly at the party...

I also made a second friend, Pink Ribbon Duck!  Pink Ribbon Duck is a great advocate for helping me “duck breast cancer”!

Hanging out with my new friend Pink Ribbon Duck!

There were also a lot of great fashions to check out at the party.  If I could wear a t-shirt, it would defiantly be this one:

The front of the shirt...

And the back! Isn't it great?

I also think I would look particularly HOT in these awesome socks (ya know, if I had feet!):

I just LOVE these socks!

But I guess since the t-shirt doesn’t fit and the socks don’t fit, I will just have to settle for a classic pair of Team Coconutter Strutters “Dealy-Boopers”!

As they say, you can always tell a Coconut by their Dealy-Boopers!

I had so much fun getting to know my new teammates at the party.  Here are some of the Coconuts that I was hanging out with tonight.  Would you believe they all went to high school together?  They’re just like Mom and her Relentless Optimism teammates!

My Coconut teammates!

In between sets of the concert, the Coconuts paraded around the room asking for donations.  They even had big pink buckets just for the occasion – I think they might be long lost cousins!

Fill those buckets with donations, folks!

While the ladies worked the pink buckets, I was in charge of collecting donations at the table.  There was so much money coming in, I was getting overwhelmed!

So much money! Good thing it's for such a great cause!

In the end, it might have gotten a little crazy at times, but it was a ton of fun!  We ultimately raised $500 to help in the fight against breast cancer.  What a successful night!

Great job, Coconutter Strutters!

Vanessa taught me a new Chinese Proverb: “The journey is the reward!”  I think that perfectly sums up my night at the Passionate About Pink concert.  And now that I’m an official Coconut (Dealy-Boppers and all!), I would like to say on behalf of my new teammates that we are so thankful for all of our supporters and friends that we have made along this journey!

The Coconuts have now wrapped up their fundraising for the Michigan 3 Day.  BUT – the Coconuts will also be strutting their stuff at the Arizona walk later this fall.  If you would like to help contribute to the Coconutter Strutters fundraising goals for their Arizona event, you can do so here.

Thanks for a great night Coconuts – see you soon at the big walk!

Thank you Vanessa DeKoekKoek for taking good of Mug in Michigan and for sharing all of these great photos!

Written by 3 Day Mug

August 8, 2010 at 10:00 am

Posted in Michigan

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] our tolls.  It was a big responsibility, but after seeing how well I handled all that money at the Coconutter Strutters fundraiser, Jeremy was sure I could handle it! Getting ready to pay a toll. Wait… who are you calling a […]


Leave a Reply

